A Smoothie for the Sick

Happy Thursday šŸ™‚

I hope you all are having a great week so far! It’s almost Friday…and that’s always a good thing! I am especially excited for this weekend because it will be filled with two of my favorite things: friends and frisbee!

This weekend starts the beginning of the College Championship Series and both the UCF Men’s and Women’s teams have a shot at making it to Nationals this year!

The UCF mens team, Dogs of War, made it to Nationals last year, coached by none other than…Andrew!

379348_10150957910924434_1361234426_n

Such a fun, talented group of guys!

I’m looking forward to [hopefully] seeing them make it to NationalsĀ two years in a row! It’s also going to be exciting to see the Women’s team, the Sirens (my former team), hopefully take theirĀ first shot at Nationals! How exciting if BOTH teams showed up to Nationals to represent UCF?! Fingers crossed!

Since I’m not playing for a college team anymore, I will be spending the weekend in Gainesville, cheering on the sideline at Sectionals with a former teammate, and one of my very good friends, Kara!

Kara moved to south Florida over the summer and I have not seen her in far too long! She and I plan to kick off our fun-filled weekend with a short and sweet 3-mile morning run, followed by breakfast at a local Gainesville hot spot. By the way…she recently completed her first half-marathon and has already signed up for her first FULL marathon, the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington, DC on October 27! Inspirational šŸ™‚

Hopefully all the fun activities and time with friends this weekend will shake this cold I seem to have caught at the beginning of this week. Being sick is never fun–I woke up this morning only wanting somethingĀ coldĀ for breakfast. What better than a creamy smoothie to help cheer me up? Even though it’s only spring (though you’d think it’s already summer with the intense Florida heat) I decided to whip up my smoothie with a fall favorite–pumpkin!DSC02815

Ā Into my blender I combined the following to create a delicious Pumpkin & Peanut Butter Smoothie:

  • 1.5 frozen bananas
  • 1/3 c cottage cheese
  • 1/3 c plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 c pumpkin puree
  • 1 T peanut butter
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • big handful of spinach
  • enough almond milk to blend everything together (about 2/3 c)

Those of you who may be cringing at the thought of adding cottage cheese and/or spinach, I assure you…youĀ cannot taste either! The cottage cheese simply adds a kick of protein and the spinach provides me with a serving of vegetables–completely undetected šŸ˜‰

Pretty yummy and festive way to start an under-the-weather Thursday!

Let's hear your thoughts!

