Playing Catch-Up (Part 1)

Ever have one of those weeks where there just aren’t enough hours in a day or days in a week to finish everything that needs to get done? Yeah – last week was one of those for me. From hearing about the tragedy in Boston to multiple upcoming events at work that needed my attention, the week seemed like one big blur that I couldn’t keep up with! Thankfully, today begins a new week that should be a bit less chaotic.

So…I will give you a recap of my week in between all the craziness! Though I will break it up into two posts so I don’t lose you in a novel 😉

Sectionals weekend was a blast and filled with so much fun and time with good friends! As I mentioned in my last post, my good friend Kara was driving up last Friday night to accompany me as a sideline supporter for our men and women’s ultimate teams. A group of my friends and I met her, her boyfriend Kyle, and adorable puppy Baya, for dinner at Jimmy Hulas. We socialized and got ice cream and then headed home to get some sleep since we had a 6:30am wake up call on Saturday morning.

We hit the road bright and early to arrive in Gainesville just before 8:30am. Kara and I laced up our running shoes and set out to cover 3-miles. It was a nice, easy run to start off the weekend – the weather was beautiful, nice and cool!

After our run, we were all too eager for breakfast, and rightly so because we had plans to hit up one of the most popular breakfast spots in Gainesville, The Flying Biscuit Cafe. That place was a-maz-ing! They have so many things to choose from on their menu and everything comes with one of their famous sugared biscuits!

I ordered the Veggie Scramble that came with a side of fresh fruit and the infamous biscuit.

image

The Flying Biscuit also has a signature Cranberry Apple Butter that I used to top my biscuit – unbelievably good! Kara’s meal came with “creamy dreamy grits” which I sampled…and let me tell you, they were out of this world! They were like a velvety oatmeal that were sweet and savory all at once!

After breakfast, we headed out to the UF Recreation fields to watch the games and cheer on our former teammates. Both the Sirens and Dogs of War won out on Saturday and would advance to play for the finals on Sunday!

After a day spent cheering and running around in the Florida sun, we were ready for dinner and bed! Kara and I ate soups and salads at Panera before checking into our hotel and collapsing into bed for the night.

Sunday morning offered another opportunity for a unique and delicious breakfast in Gainesville. One of Andrew’s old friends (and alumnus) from UCF actually owns his own restaurant, Sister’s. It’s a quaint, family-friendly eatery that features handcrafted breakfasts and lunches that emphasize their use of local ingredients. Andrew, Kara, and I had the pleasure of eating with Tom, the owner himself! With his encouragement, I ordered the Panko Encrusted Poached Eggs – a decision I am SO happy I made.

image_5 This dish featured 2 poached eggs encrusted in panko breadcrumbs that laid on a bed of creamed fresh spinach. It was served with a side of fresh hashed potatoes, bacon, and cinnamon raisin bread that Tom baked himself!

This meal was incredible. It was so fresh and decadent! If you’re ever in Gainesville and looking for a local (dog friendly!) breakfast/lunch restaurant, I would highly recommend Sister’s. They are also going to be offering Wine Dinners where you pay $50/person for a 5 course meal (with wine pairings for each course) and entertainment for the guests!

After our wonderful breakfast, we headed back out to the fields to watch the finals games. The women played their hearts out and won first place in the women’s division! Kara and I were so proud of how well everyone played! After their games, we watched the guys win their final match-up as well! It was so exciting to witness both UCF teams take home the Sectionals winning titles!

After grabbing a quick bite to eat at Pita Pit, Kara, Andrew, and I headed back to Orlando. Kara and I then said our goodbyes and parted ways. The weekend was amazing and went by way too quickly! Before I knew it, I was in bed and preparing for another workweek!

Monday began with a smoothie that tasted like a Chocolate Covered Strawberry.

DSC02822

I combined 1 large frozen banana, 4 large strawberries (sliced), 1/2 c plain greek yogurt, 1/2 c cottage cheese, 1T cocoa powder, a big handful of spinach, and about 1/2 c almond milk to blend everything together. The result was quite a treat!

After a long day at work, I completed a 60-minute cardio workout that included 30 minutes on the treadmill, 15 minutes of intervals on the stairmaster (intense!) and 15 minutes of intervals on the elliptical. I followed up the cardio with about 10 minutes of ab exercises and then got my butt out of there to make some dinner!

I made dinner for Andrew and I at his house using various vegetables and the star of the meal – turkey sausage! I love that stuff! It was sweet and smokey at the same time…delicious!

DSC02825

To make this dinner I started by heating up 1T coconut oil over high heat. I then sautéed 1 medium chopped onion, 1 large green bell pepper, 4 ounces sliced portabella mushrooms, and 1 can drained & rinsed black beans. Once the onions were slightly caramelized and the rest of the veggies were tender, I added the turkey sausage. While the sausage was browning up, I lightly roasted some broccoli florets. Everything finished cooking at about the same time, so I plated up our dinners and we dug in! Definitely a meal I wouldn’t hesitate to recreate!

Tuesday was another crazy day at work. One of my bosses is preparing to fly to China on business and the whole process of preparing for the trip is quite lengthy (to say the least!) Before meeting up with Andrew for a special dinner date, I hit the gym for a 45-minute cardio and weight training circuit workout. My workout included various weight-training exercises such as overhead press, tricep extensions, bicep curls, lunges, and weighted squats. Cardio included burpees, skaters with a thigh toner band, jumping jacks with the thigh toner band, screamers, and a few other heart-pumping moves to break up the weighted sets. That workout kicked my butt and left me feeling quite energized!

After my workout, I had a special dinner date-night planned for Andrew. We have started a little tradition where once or twice a month, we will have a date night planned for each other. We also have a special name for these special dates: Terrific Lady Night/Terrific Boyfriend Night. (Anyone watch “The League”?! haha) So my night took us to the Milk District in Orlando for “Tasty Tuesday”. I had never heard of it before, but apparently every Tuesday, a number of food trucks congregate on Robinson St. to give hungry guests plenty of options to satisfy their cravings!

534949_372280902885605_1152023155_n

541517_372279189552443_748002532_n This event is also dog-friendly, which was a win for us both since we got to bring Blinkin and Axel! They were overwhelmed with all the delicious smells!

Blinkin was actually overwhelmed by pretty much everything…the crowd had him a little nervous thinking he might get lost, even though he was on a leash! So I resorted to toting him around for a while.

Andrew ended up ordering a goat cheese and mushroom burger with truffle fries from the Treehouse Truck which he raved about! I opted for 2 blackened fish tacos with tortilla chips and jalapeño queso from Bem Bom. It was delicious! The fish was paired with a cool coleslaw and mango salsa. Andrew and I both agreed that we will have to frequent Tasty Tuesday more often!

Let's hear your thoughts!

