Playing Catch-Up (Part 2)

Wednesday was work as usual followed by a trip to the gym for a 6-mile interval run on the treadmill that looked like this:

6 Mile Treadmill Intervals

This workout was perfect for getting in my cardio while still keeping me alert and focused on my run. I loved switching up my normal pace to challenge myself!

After my sweaty workout, I showered and met up with Andrew to head over to UCF for the annual Sports Club Banquet. The event was catered by Tijuana Flats, so the food was delicious and it was great to catch up with the girls and guys on the Ultimate teams! After some brief announcements and acknowledgements, it was time for the awards. Turns out somebody ended up winning Coach of the Year!

image_6

Congratulations Andrew! 🙂

That was definitely an exciting surprise – one that was definitely well deserved!

Thursday was an exciting day because it was my first time participating in the IOA Corporate 5K! This is an annual event in Orlando that invites all local companies and businesses to participate in a 5K race and to advertise their services while socializing and having a great time! My first experience was SO much fun and I’m already looking forward to running this race again next year! A group from my office participated and we had a blast!

66023_10151541367596730_377881841_n

Pre 5K

Dinner at WildSide Bar & Grille

Dinner at WildSide Bar & Grille

This particular 5K was also a milestone for me because I completed the race in 25:17. I was aiming to keep my time around 25 minutes and I was so excited to meet my goal! I like to make mini goals for myself whenever I’m participating in a race because it gives me something to strive for and makes me push a little harder than I might have otherwise. It was extremely humid out and the air was so thick – breathing was a CHORE.

After we all finished, we decided to walk over to a nearby restaurant, WildSide Bar & Grille, for some post-run fuel! It was great to catch up with everyone outside of the office and the food was delicious! I ordered steak kebobs with grilled peppers and onions, served with a side of warm pita bread…mayyybe my favorite part of the meal!

Friday was another day at the office and a spontaneously decided rest day on the workout front! Since it had been such a busy week, I was wanting to spend Friday night relaxing and having a movie/froyo date night with Andrew. I have a sliiight obsession with Frozen Yogurt and had been craving a trip to get some of the yummy ice cream all week! So, when Andrew and I got off work, we walked to Yummieland, a froyo shop within walking distance from Andrew’s apartment (though he thinks the “walkable distance” is debatable 😉 )

After froyo, we headed back to his apartment to watch The Perks of Being A Wallflower. I really enjoyed the movie! It was a lot different than I was expecting…probably because I hadn’t read the book yet – though now I really want to read it!

Saturday was quite eventful! I woke up early to complete 30 minutes of cardio followed by 30 minutes of a weight training circuit, followed by a yummy smoothie for breakfast! I kept the smoothie light because I knew the afternoon would be full of sampling different appetizers and beers for a fundraiser Andrew and I were participating in.

One of my boss’s good friends and local school teacher, Danielle Peeples, has unfortunately been diagnosed with brain cancer. She is an amazing woman who had previously survived breast cancer. Now she is battling another round of the awful disease. My boss asked me to help coordinate a fundraiser event with another company who has close ties with the elementary school teacher. We set up a “poker run” where we would visit several different bars over the course of the day and each location provided food and drink specials for the event as well as generous donations. Everyone received a playing card at each stop and by the end of the night, we’d see who had the best poker hand. The whole night was a blast! It would not have been possible without the effort of everyone involved in coordinating the event and all of the monetary donations from everyone who participated in the event.

If you would like to learn more about Danielle or donate to the cause, please visit: Support for Danielle & Mr. Richard.

The fundraiser was a complete success and we ended up raising over $3,000 to donate to Danielle and Richard!

Sunday was spent resting and recovering from all the eating and drinking on Saturday – a much needed day of relaxation!

This week will be a bit more low key, especially since I have some sort of mysterious pain in my left calf. It cramped up on Sunday night, went away, cramped up again on Monday morning and continued on and off throughout the day yesterday to the point where I could not put weight on my left leg. Very painful…and very strange. It has been feeling better today, so I may try and stretch it out by going for a walk with Axel and Blinkin later.

That’s it for today! I believe we’re all caught up now! So I will stop being such a slacker from now on and will update you all more regularly 😉 Have a happy rest of your Tuesday!

One thought on “Playing Catch-Up (Part 2)

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog
    that’s equally educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something tha not enough people
    are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I came across this in my search
    for something regarding this.

Let's hear your thoughts!

