Calf Cramp Confusion

Good Morning! Hopefully everyone’s weeks are winding down nicely!

I am looking forward to the rest of the day because it’s AOA’s 4th Anniversary!

 

To celebrate, we’re having an open house/happy hour celebration this afternoon. One of my coworkers is a former chef and will be taking care of the culinary concoctions…can’t wait to try his gourmet grilling! 😉 We’re inviting some friends and old company partners from Universal, Disney, and various other entertainment projects we’ve worked on. I’m sure it will be a blast! One of the many things I love about working at AOA is that everyone in the industry is so darn fun and accomplished! Everyone enjoys having a good time and reconnecting with old friends.

In other news, those mysterious calf cramps are still wreaking havoc on my legs! Ever since Sunday night my left calf had been cramping and, as of yesterday, now my right calf has decided to join in. My first thought was dehydration, but I am pretty good about drinking at least 1.5L of water a day, so I don’t think that’s the issue. The next logical thought was pulling it during exercise…but seeing as I had taken a rest day Friday and Sunday and haven’t been doing anything differently/more strenuous in my workout routine, I’d be surprised if that was the problem. I normally eat a banana a day (with a morning smoothie or afternoon snack) so I’m hoping it isn’t a potassium deficiency! Regardless – I made an appointment at a walk-in clinic to see if they can give me some idea of what might be going on. The doctor’s evaluation will determine my next steps…hopefully it’s a simple fix!

My meals for the week have been a bit random and spur of the moment because I haven’t had my normal appetite with these leg cramps. I have also been trying to listen to my body more with what I feel I need.

Monday night was very snacky since it was the first day that I was really feeling under the weather. Over the course of the day, I had snacks like peanut butter toast, a pear, a cheese stick with some mixed nuts, greek yogurt with some strawberries. I tried to keep the snacks healthy since I wasn’t hungry enough for regular meals.

Tuesday I was feeling a little better and had a cup of Blueberry Chobani Greek Yogurt, a Fiber One bar, and a tangerine for breakfast. Lunch took me to Whole Foods for an assortment of salads and selections from their hot lunch bar. I LOVE that Whole Foods has an option for people who need to grab and go but still want a healthy meal – so smart and convenient! By dinnertime, I felt more myself and decided to make a yummy dinner for Andrew and me. On the menu was coconut chicken and vegetables over brown rice.

DSC02828

I heated 1T coconut oil in a pan over med-high heat. I added to the pan 4 seasoned chicken breasts (seasoned with pepper, a pinch of salt, and garlic powder). I let those cook until they were still pink on the inside. I then added 1/2 can of light coconut milk, 1/2 bag frozen veggie mix (carrots, corn, green beans, and peas), as well as 8oz freshly chopped mushrooms.

While all that was simmering away on med-low heat, I steamed 1c brown rice.

Once the rice was tender and fully, I spooned it on a plate and topped it with the coconut chicken and vegetable mix. As an avid lover of anything coconut, this meal was a WINNER in my book! I was a big fan of the coconut “sauce” that was created during the simmering process and tasted fantastic as the rice soaked it up.

Yesterday was a doozy. I was feeling pretty good throughout the afternoon and was planning on going to the gym with Andrew to do an upper body workout since I figured that wouldn’t affect my legs. We were about to head out the door and BOTH my calves cramped, along with the knee/lower quad area on my left leg because my calves were so tight. I ended up sitting in the hot tub at the gym to loosen up my muscles. It felt great while I was in there, but did not seem to do much in the long run since both legs were cramping again by the end of the night.

I cannot wait to get it checkout out later this afternoon so I can hopefully get some answers. I am heading to Tupelo, Mississippi tomorrow afternoon to join the UCF Sirens and Dogs of War at Regionals! I’m super excited about watching both teams and hopefully seeing them both make it to Nationals this year!

Here’s to hoping that I don’t need to get my legs amputated or anything! 😉

Let's hear your thoughts!

